Bending Progression Etc

PeterSweden

I have a few questions for all the strong benders.

1: How much volume do you do each session?

2: How do you warm up before bending?

3: How do you progress to the next bar?

4: How do you plan it all out?

Im looking to certify in 2013 and I've planned it like this:

bend once a week .

do a couple of easier bends and then 1-2 heavy bends, depending on how I feel that day.

I will kink the IM RED in cordura and suede and then bend and crush it in only IMP's and then use less and less pre-kink.

When I can get it without pre-kinking it in suede I will cut a centimeter or two off the bar and try to bend it in IMP's only.

I think this might make it easier when I go back to a full length Im Red.

What do you think?

Im kinda new to bending and Im looking for advice/help!

Saturdays will be my primary bending day and I will do lots of core-training, then some grippers before bending.

Maybe I need some specific warmup before bending, more than a couple of easier bends?

Thanks in advance! :)

Well, first off how much do you weigh? Your size and strength level will play a role in shaping your program. Once a week is probably not enough, unless you are titaniclly strong. DO kink is as technical as OLY lifting and after several years, I am just beginning to understand it.

Unless you are enormous, the 'working down' from doubles to singles generally doesn't work. Your best bet is to be almost entirely in IMP's and ONLY 7" stock. Hand conditioning is a must. some say IMPs are hard on the hands but i dont really have that issue.

Bending shorter will not help you bend 7" stock. You want to be able to bend 20# over the Red @ 7", not necessarily a shorter Red, that is simply a different animal.