Bending Training

glengoodwin

hey ive seen a few videos of people doing this stuff and im wondering how i would start training for something like the red nail

Glen, congrats for picking one goal for start. If u said the "red nail" i pressume u are working hard to kill it so this is what i recommend:

get a good pair of wraps and learn the 3 most popular styles: DO,DU,reverse...most of the guys i know are capable to kill big steel using the DO style so go for it.(this style its tricky, u need to learn it ...practis eit very often will get u good results)...when i started i did DU but couldnt do nothing with the same piece of steel using Do style. I got the help of my bending brothers and read/watched and got personal advice ... the first bar i bend DO was one piece of 7" or 6" (cant remember) 1(4" hrs ...i was happy! not because the easy bar i destroyed but because i finished my "degree in DO bending" ..after this piece i knew in my heart i could use DO to kill "big"steel.

There are lots of videos at youtube ,u can learn from watching.

Some pieces to pick from the easier to the herdest:

1/4" 7" or 6" hrs

1/4" 7" crs

1/4"x6" crs

60 d nail

1/4"x6" g5 or 7 mm crs x 6"

1/4"x5.5" g5

5/16 " x 6" g2(g2 at 5/16" vary more than anything else ... there's one brand thats its average :"bl" i would say even easier than one g8 (500pounds).

1/4"x6" g8( the triangule brand and the "le" are the hardest i tried)

RED nail

(STEEL VARY A LOT so u will never know untill u calibrate it)

U can read Eric's advice here : http://www.gripboard.com/index.php?showtopic=11889

Edited by ewokhugo

Great advice Hugo.

There is so much great info here Glen, read as much as you can and absorb it all.

so sledge levering is good for training the wrist for bending?? any suggestions on what weight sledge i start with??

so sledge levering is good for training the wrist for bending?? any suggestions on what weight sledge i start with??