Steel Progressions For A Newcomer?

Csmith724

Hey guys, I'm new to steel/nail bending. I've read a bunch of articles and sites about bending, and have seen a few different lists of progressions.

Even with all this information, I'm not going to lie, it's a little overwhelming with all these different stocks out there! Nails, bolts, grades, thicknesses. I feel lost!

I have the Beginner's Bag from FBBC and I've been doing some bends with the stock from that. Thus far I've completed bends with the 7'', 6'' and 5.5'' 3/16th round stock with ease. If anyone knows what the progression should be for that bag, it would help me a lot. Also, what kinds of steel, nails and/or bolts can I pickup from a hardware store for my level?

Thanks for the help.

Chris

Hi there,

without knowledge about the exact contents of the beginner bag, I would recommend the following:

Once you're done (or more or less done) with 3/16 round stock, spend a couple of weeks with 3/16 square stock. At this stage you can also buy some timber ties, simple spiral nails, good for beginners. After some time with the square (and perhaps also the grade 2 bolts), you will be able to bend the 1/4 round stock at 7". Spend a couple of weeks with that until you have mastered 6" round stock. Now you buy some 60d nails and bend them for volume. After that, 5,5" round probably is a piece of cake and after a couple of workout the 6" grade 5 bolt should fall.

That ought to be a beginners progression that'll keep you busy for about 1-2 months.

And I would recommend you to be sensible with the wrapping in the beginning, not too much and not too little, one layer of leather/suede will protect you hands and allow you to biuld strength in your hands/wrists. Later on, you can switch to doubles if you choose that road, but for now you should focus on base strength and technique.

Damm , Henrik said (almost) everything! lol