Timber Spikes

mgjenn23

As a newbie, I can't tell you how grateful I am for all the advice, video demonstrations and encouragement this board provides to those starting out, so many thanks to all of you. So, if I may pick your brains again; what tips can you give a beginner for bending 12" timber spikes? I realize there's a lot of "feel" and finding a comfort zone involved but any advice you can give me I'd appreciate it. My first attempt last night going over my thigh and then bracing it on my knee and pulling back, ended in a 30deg bend after a 5min fight with much sweating, grunting and cursing.

Thanks again.--Mike

I never had any luck bending over my thigh so i usually start it on my knee. I added the link to my 12" spike bend below. There are alot of videos you can find on you tube for this type of braced bending.

Get some lind of wraps for the ends of the spike and wrap them really tight so they do not start to slip during the pull. Then put the center over your knee (with some kind of pad underneath) and start your pull. I find that trying to push my hips forward gives me more energy then just pulling backwards against your knee. Make sure you breath!!! I find that by taking a deep breath first and forcing the air out while your jaw is closed tight, generates to most power. You can also try moving your grip out as far as possible on the ends of the bar. As i did shorter bends, i would put the wraps half on & half off the ends of the spike and did the same with my hands.

Once you get it bent as far as possible over you knee, put it between your thighs and squeeze. Make sure you keep your hands on the ends of the bar and start it as high as possible but keep your feet together. I find that almost bending at the knees & hips works the best and then you just have to stand up from there. Also make sure you are wearing shoes that can grip the ground really good. If not your feet will slip and you wil loose all that power that your legs are generating.