Martial Arts Grip Training

jjfighter

Hello,

My name is Matt, I am new to this board. Thank you for letting me be involved here, I look forward to learning and hopefully contributing.

I am a grappling martial artist, I say that because I do a variety of grappling arts (ju-jitsu, bjj, submission wrestling). I am also into strength training, and have been for the past 4 years. I found that it has greatly increased my abilities on the mat.

Over the course of these past few years, I've noticed that I just have "average" hand strength for a grappler. Recently, I happened to train with a pipe installer of some sort. He worked with wrenches all day. When we rolled, his hand strength and grip were insane. To a point where it actually annoyed me and I had to change the focus of my game. Ever since then I've been trying to improve my grip. I also used to train with a top collegiate wrestler who got to work with Cael Sanderson (Olympic Gold Medalist). He said that when Cael grabbed you or got a hold of you, it actually hurt because his grip was that strong... that's just awesome.

I was hoping some of you guys could point me down the right path or critique what I have been doing. I bought CoC-T and CoC #1 a while ago. I read a few FAQs here and bought the Mastery of Hand Strength and CoC Book as well. They just got delivered yesterday and I'm dying to read them over.

Here is what I have been doing. (I just had shoulder surgery 2 months ago, so I have been recovering from that which has been putting a limit on my training)

Sumo Deadlifts - thickbar.

-I am doing about 3 warmup sets, and then just 5 reps, pyramiding up till I can't get 5 anymore. I started with a double overhand grip. Once I got above 225, I was losing the grip quicker. My right hand is still weaker from the surgery even though I am right-handed. After that I lose my grip, I switch to an under-over and continue going up.

Towel Pulldowns

-Wrapping a towel around the pulldown handle and doing them that way