Newbie To Grip Training

Beev

Hi Folks. I introduced myself over at the newbie thread, but thought id redo it here, just to help familiarise myself a bit more.

My name is Neil. Im a bit of a newbie to grip training. I bought a RB 70 about 6 months ago, played with it a little then lost interest, now I have regained that interest, and hopefully, you guys can help me get off to a good start.

My current grip strength leaves alot to be desired, truly! I bought the RB 70, and before I just worked on trying to build reps and did negatives with a hose clamp tightened around the spring, which added a little more resistence. I can t fully close it with the clamp on anymore.

Just so you folks know where I am at, here is my current At the time of writing, I can hold the gripper closed in my right hand for a whopping 35 seconds, the left hand for an eye poppin 28 seconds (however, I do currently have a slight injury on my left hand that causes a pain in the back of my hand when I clench really tightly, though I didnt feel any pain whilst holding the gripper closed). I have only done single handed closes tho, I didnt use two hands to set the gripper.

As far as reps go, I only managed to close the gripper a shameful 6 times (Im going by the standard that you listen for the handles to click, that counts as one rep) with my right hand, and couldnt fully close it at all, with my left hand, getting maybe a millimeter or two from the handles clicking.

I did test the reps after doing the negatives tho, so that will have had an impact to a degree no doubt.

Currently im 26 years old, I weigh about 190lbs, but looking to get down to about 165-170lbs. My interests are Boxing, Mixed Martial Arts and anything Combat related in general, this is the kind of stuff I want to train my grip for!